Bites of Famous Literature

fictitiousdishes_heidi

Heidi, By Joanna Spyri

I ate them like salad, books were my sandwich for lunch, my tiffin and dinner and midnight munch. I tore out the pages, ate them with salt, doused them with relish, gnawed on the bindings, turned the chapters with my tongue! Books by the dozen, the score and the billion. I carried so many home I was hunchbacked for years. Philosophy, art history, politics, social science, the poem, the essay, the grandiose play, you name ’em, I ate ’em.

Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451

 


A good description can make any mouth water, if it has the right rhythm and words. We picture the main characters of our favorite books with meals we would love to be chewing, right next to them. Apple pies, while reading On the Road. Cups of tea in the woods of Alice and Wonderland. 

Dinah Fried turned all this descriptions into a book, filled with beautiful pictures of her interpretation of different dishes in famous fiction. Amaze yourselves with this clever and elegant work. Fictitious Dishes is a book I would love to add to my library!

 

fictitiousdishes_mobydickMoby Dick, By Herman Melville

fictitiousdishes_gatsby

The Great Gatsby, By F. Scott Fitzgerald

fictitiousdishes_gonzo

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, By Hunter S. Thompson

fictitiousdishes_ontheroad

On the Road, By Jack Kerouac

Fictitious Dishes: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, By Lewis Carroll

 

2 thoughts on “Bites of Famous Literature

Leave a Reply

